Go Back   Zukikrawlers > Technical > Technical Section

Photo Gallery Home Forum FlashChat Email


Technical Section Technical, Modifications, Troubleshooting, and Repairs. You better wanna get greasy to be in here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 01:44 PM   #1
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
Flashers work -blinkers don't

I don't know what is causing this. I have been chasing wires for over a week and still no success to diagnosing the problem.

I have a 92 Samurai, the fuse block has power. It will blow a fuse immediately when I put one in. The flasher works and all of the light bulbs are new and work perfectly. I have not replaced the light fixtures themselves though. Could that be the problem? What am I missing? This Samurai is rust free and I want to put it on the street as a DD but I can't if I don't get this fixed asap.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:01 PM   #2
phloop
Bacon is the answer
 
phloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Odell, OR.
Posts: 33,930
Rep Power: 237831
phloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond repute
If you have checked all the wires and grounds, next thing I would check is the multi function switch to see if it has an issue.
__________________
~Union Rules~



Union hall 3B




Living life a half bubble off.




pie


0-1






I'm singing dammit!
phloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:34 PM   #3
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
Did that also. Should have mentioned that. I have a spare so I plugged both harnesses up and still nothing. The flasher works still but no blinkers. The multifunction switch doesn't have to be mounted on the steering column to function properly does it? I didn't bother removing the one on the column and just plugged this one into the harness. I didn't see any place where it would ground to the column.
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:39 PM   #4
phloop
Bacon is the answer
 
phloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Odell, OR.
Posts: 33,930
Rep Power: 237831
phloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond reputephloop has a reputation beyond repute
No need for the switch to be mounted to the collumn. I tested a couple just by plugging them in as you did.
__________________
~Union Rules~



Union hall 3B




Living life a half bubble off.




pie


0-1






I'm singing dammit!
phloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:42 PM   #5
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
I guess I could try to disconnect the switch (both harnesses) and see if the fuse still pops. If it does that would mean it is in the wiring or plugs right?
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:56 PM   #6
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
Just tried it and still blew the fuse. Hmmmm.
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:47 PM   #7
ack
 
ack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 1,992
Rep Power: 31280
ack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond reputeack has a reputation beyond repute
Disregard this post. I didn't read the first one carefully enough....
__________________
- Ack

'88 Samurai Offroader
'88.5 Samurai Tintop
'11 Ford Transit Connect XLT Wagon
http://www.acksfaq.com


Last edited by ack; 06-12-2011 at 05:45 PM. Reason: brain fart
ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 09:57 PM   #8
skyhiranger
 
skyhiranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near KC
Posts: 3,747
Rep Power: 32862
skyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford381stroker View Post
Just tried it and still blew the fuse. Hmmmm.
Unplug all the lights, put in a new fuse, plug them in 1 by 1 and see which one blows the fuse, when you plug it in. At least you could isolate the problem that way.
__________________
Tracker and Sidekick parts for sale.....PM me with your wants/needs.
skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:59 PM   #9
mybadford
 
mybadford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 263
Rep Power: 3480
mybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond reputemybadford has a reputation beyond repute
I kind of had a similar problem but my right side turn signal worked and so did the hazard flashers but not the left side. All it did was make the flasher buzz. as messed up as it sounds I replaced the flasher and it resolved the problem for now anyway. I'm not to certian that I don't have a ground problem as well. Once I get a ZOR front bumper with LED lights to match the rear I will reground all the lights
__________________
86 jx, 1.3, spoa, YJ springs, missing links up front, 5.12 r&p, hybrid rear housing, Double Tough front shafts, Warn lockouts, rear disc, transfer case parking brake,5.5" longer shock hoops, full OTS steering, ZOR rear bumper, 1450psi p/s pump, 2"x6" hydro assist ram, tracker steering box, 6.5 tc, twin stick, LROR EOS tc cradle, 16/35-15 Boggers, 15x14 Weld wheels
mybadford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:27 PM   #10
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
I currently have all of the marker lights removed. It blows a fuse with no lights in? I am lost as to what to do now. Should I start replacing all of the light housings and ground wires to each of them?
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:28 PM   #11
240hpsammy
beer is the answer
 
240hpsammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: terrebonne quebec, up north
Posts: 15,110
Rep Power: 151366
240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute
unplug the lights housings one by one
__________________
honda 2.2 liter s2000 vtec engine swap moded 275hp,9500 redline,6 speed tranny...still under construction




MY BUILD THREAD







240hpsammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:29 PM   #12
240hpsammy
beer is the answer
 
240hpsammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: terrebonne quebec, up north
Posts: 15,110
Rep Power: 151366
240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute240hpsammy has a reputation beyond repute
you might have a open wire to ground on one bulb housing like i had .
__________________
honda 2.2 liter s2000 vtec engine swap moded 275hp,9500 redline,6 speed tranny...still under construction




MY BUILD THREAD







240hpsammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:30 PM   #13
skyhiranger
 
skyhiranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near KC
Posts: 3,747
Rep Power: 32862
skyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond reputeskyhiranger has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford381stroker View Post
I currently have all of the marker lights removed. It blows a fuse with no lights in? I am lost as to what to do now. Should I start replacing all of the light housings and ground wires to each of them?
When I said "unplug the lights", I meant disconnect the wiring connectors, not remove the bulbs. Unplug them all, put a good fuse in, plug each one back in one by one and check the fuse after each one. That will isolate which one is causing the problem. I'd say you have a hot wire grounded/shorted somewhere.
__________________
Tracker and Sidekick parts for sale.....PM me with your wants/needs.
skyhiranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 09:27 AM   #14
firstsami
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: highland ca
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
firstsami is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhiranger View Post
When I said "unplug the lights", I meant disconnect the wiring connectors, not remove the bulbs. Unplug them all, put a good fuse in, plug each one back in one by one and check the fuse after each one. That will isolate which one is causing the problem. I'd say you have a hot wire grounded/shorted somewhere.
Thats what it sounds like. there is a short to ground some where. by un pluging the wire to the sockets one by one this will tell you which one or eliminate that area. If that dont work trace wires back mayby there cut and grounding
firstsami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 09:45 AM   #15
skyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: yakima, wa
Posts: 3,194
Rep Power: 15876
skyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond reputeskyman has a reputation beyond repute
Mine were run under the shock relocation bar (since removed). If your wires travel above a shock relocation bar check them, mine were pinched there and randomly shorting out.
skyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:52 PM   #16
ford381stroker
 
ford381stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,032
Rep Power: 962
ford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond reputeford381stroker has a reputation beyond repute
I will work on the sockets tomorrow evening. The weird part is they all work and flash as they should with the hazards on?
__________________
Want to find out more about Southern Missouri wheeling and things going on in our area feel free to visit: http://peakoffroad.com/
ford381stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tin Top Tube Work farmersmalls Build-up Garage 141 04-22-2014 01:40 AM
My work during the day 96crawler Post your Picture 16 02-24-2011 09:44 PM
ENDA: Work place is the Wrong Place for dadstoybox Anything and Everything 0 05-10-2008 01:42 AM
no blinkers... Lanford Technical Section 0 03-04-2008 02:27 PM


Sponsored links


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2005-2009 Zukikrawlers.comAd Management by RedTyger