PDA

View Full Version : Motor mounts


GAZUKI
04-08-2007, 08:29 PM
Does anyone make a heavy duty motor mount or a solid mount for a 1.3. I keep breaking the stockers.

durnzuki
04-08-2007, 08:34 PM
Does anyone make a heavy duty motor mount or a solid mount for a 1.3. I keep breaking the stockers.
I re drilled and ran a grade 8 bolts through the center.

ARnMAG
04-08-2007, 09:05 PM
check out hawk,,

they've got some beefy ones..

http://www.hawksuzukiparts.com/

Billjohn
04-08-2007, 09:19 PM
I used a brand new set of Dodge 318 motor mounts. Built to handle a V8, they are much stronger than stock without going to something solid... and they only cost $4.95 apiece from the local autozone.
http://www.izook.com/tech/samurai/engine/jfe2/images/2043812.jpg

TX_ZUKI
04-08-2007, 09:21 PM
I used a brand new set of Dodge 318 motor mounts. Built to handle a V8, they are much stronger than stock without going to something solid... and they only cost $4.95 apiece from the local autozone.
http://www.izook.com/tech/samurai/engine/jfe2/images/2043812.jpg

This is what I run with no problems.

madzukr
04-08-2007, 09:24 PM
This is what I run with no problems.


when you go buy them,what year and make of car do you ask for?

TX_ZUKI
04-08-2007, 09:33 PM
when you go buy them,what year and make of car do you ask for?

76-78 Dodge 318

GAZUKI
04-08-2007, 10:54 PM
Thanks again, hopefully I will be picking up a set tomorrow(depending on inventory), I have found when dealing with such a small amount of power ,mounts really make a difference on the torque end.

dwkremer
04-09-2007, 06:58 AM
Sounds like you needs better t-case mounts. If you have strong t-case mounts you should not be breaking engine mounts because they should stop the twisting of the drive train

Itsmejoe231
04-09-2007, 07:09 AM
The T-case is connected to the tranny/motor by a single intermediate shaft, how will that stop the motor from twisting?

dwkremer
04-09-2007, 10:02 AM
keep forgetting that... I am running toy stuff in my sammy.

Billjohn
04-10-2007, 02:20 PM
Doh!

HardLuk
04-10-2007, 04:56 PM
Are these 76-78 Dodge 318 motor mounts a bolt on affair? Basically, do you have to drill, tap, etc. Do they move the engine any?

If somebody could take one of the above pics and maybe circle or somehow indicate what it is you get for $4.95. I would be tempted to do this mod if it doesn't require any compromises

Thanks,
-Nate-

Billjohn
04-10-2007, 05:07 PM
The dodge mounts have a larger stud (bolt), so you have to drill out your engine mount and your frame mount. Mine didn't come with nuts either, so you need them along with a set of lockwashers (or nylocks like I used).
When I installed them, it moved the motor up about a quarter of an inch.
Here is another shot of the mount before I bolted the motor into the vehicle...
http://www.izook.com/tech/samurai/engine/jfe2/images/2033794.jpg

HardLuk
04-12-2007, 01:31 PM
Thanks, Billjohn. Guess I won't be adding the Dodge motor mounts to my truck anytime soon...Rather not pull the engine just to drill some holes and add new mounts...BTW, that engine you have there is beautiful. Oh, and nice mounts too.

-Nate-

Billjohn
04-12-2007, 01:43 PM
Both of the parts you need to drill come off with a ratchet and socket. It is an easy upgrade. I just happened to have an engine swap planned when I did mine so it was a no brainer, but you could probably do it in about 15-20 minutes per side.

Billjohn
04-12-2007, 02:00 PM
Here are the parts that you have to drill. See? They come off without pulling the motor.
http://www.zukikrawlers.com/albums/parts/mountcopy.jpg

lil zuk
04-12-2007, 06:43 PM
trail tough makes a nice unbrakable motor mount looks real trick to

toykilla5150
04-12-2007, 10:29 PM
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/1543/motormountsgk1.jpg
This is my leaf spring buching mounts i made

Danazook
04-12-2007, 10:52 PM
I run a 1.6 8v with Dodge motor mounts.... I didnt redrill anything... There a PITA to get in and It does put a little stress on the mount but I have used them for a couple of years and only broke one so far!! I am very happy with them!!!

Mope
04-17-2007, 05:09 PM
So do the 318 motor mounts enable you to run the 1.6 without a body lift?

Danazook
04-17-2007, 06:36 PM
I beat the piss out of my hood before I put the dodge mounts on... After I put them on I dont think that I need to clearence the hood... So I would say "probably"... lol

Someone else Im sure has more info!!!

Bearkat
04-18-2007, 03:57 PM
I used these http://www.roadlessgear.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=RG241&Category_Code=E&Store_Code=RGL.

Billjohn
04-18-2007, 04:51 PM
So do the 318 motor mounts enable you to run the 1.6 without a body lift?

Body lift?
(just say NO to body lifts...)

If you have any lift at all (min. 2") you should be able to fit the 1.6 under the hood. If you are SPOA, then you have tons of room.

And if you don't want to lift it at all, you can still run a 1.6 with a 1.3 oil pan and a little fab work on the sump tube.

Body lift?
(just say NO to body lifts...)
(can you tell I dislike body lifts with a passion?!?)

Billjohn
04-18-2007, 04:54 PM
I used these http://www.roadlessgear.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=RG241&Category_Code=E&Store_Code=RGL.

:happy
(hey Bearkat, those are exactly the same components we are talking about here... except you are paying 4x plus shipping for the middleman...)
:happy

Bearkat
04-18-2007, 10:46 PM
:happy
(hey Bearkat, those are exactly the same components we are talking about here... except you are paying 4x plus shipping for the middleman...)
:happy

DOH! Live and learn don't we!

hypozook
04-24-2007, 07:12 PM
I used the upper control arms from and FJ80.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i184/hypozook/Hypozook%20engine%20mounts/enginemountDS08.jpg

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i184/hypozook/Hypozook%20engine%20mounts/enginemount-chassisDS010.jpg

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i184/hypozook/Hypozook%20engine%20mounts/enginemount-chassisPS010.jpg