PDA

View Full Version : Which engine

John A
08-18-2006, 03:22 PM
OK folks, I'm new to Zuks and need a bit of advise! I have a 86 Zuk that is pretty much a beater. I'm rebuilding the body now so I'm in no hurry but need to figure out what engine to install as the current 1.3 is pretty tired. I was leaning at installing a VW diesel but have serious doubts as to dropping that kind of dough into it,so now I'm leaning towards a 1.6 with after market injection. What do you folks think?

Regards,
John A

Zee
08-18-2006, 08:38 PM
Why aftermarket FI,you can get the 1.6 with fuel injection stock.
You will notice a considerable increase in power with the 1.6.
Or you could get another 1.3 and put the MyFy on it.
Z

elotsip
08-18-2006, 08:50 PM
I went with the 1.6l 16v EFI. It makes a huge difference and is a pretty easy swap. I think the myfi system is a good option as well. I'g go with one of those two optiosn as well.

LostSoul
08-18-2006, 09:14 PM
I love the 8 V even, but if you have a 16 V available cheap go for it.

John A
08-18-2006, 10:59 PM
OK then the 1.6 with the factory FI! What all is needed to do this switch other then the 1.6 engine, is there alot of wiring and computers needed from a donor sidekick/tracker to make this swap?

Best Regards,
John Anderson

mkyhmltn
08-18-2006, 11:30 PM
The 1.6 8V with the factory FI would be nice but with a non injected vehicle the wiring gets to be a pain in the A%#. If you are going with the 1.6 I would go with the MY-FI and not worry about the wiring. But thats just me.

Itsmejoe231
08-19-2006, 12:08 AM
Get the motor (obviously), computer, wiring harness, map sensor (it is on the fire wall), ignition, and fuel pump (optional).

Find one that is a 2wd and use the tranny as well. It is a tougher tranny than the samuria's and you dont have to buy the adaptor plate/kit. Buy the Dodge 318 motor mounts.

If you get this far I will tell you the rest. :mrgreen:

The rest is not hard, just need a little patients for the harness.