PDA

View Full Version : gauges install


88islandzuki
05-22-2006, 11:48 AM
i wanna install some gauges ,water temp , oil pressure,and volts. never done it before so i,m wanna know where to hook up the oil pressure tube ,and the temp gauge. i looked through my manual on the computer but couldent seem to find out where they go.(cant find the real manual around).
i figured you guys could probly help me quicker. thanks yall

Itsmejoe231
05-23-2006, 02:41 PM
My oil pressure gauge is where the original sending unit was threaded in to the block. You will have to get metric fittings for that.

My temperature gauge is located where my drain plug was. It is not completly accurate but it does work ( I just add about 20 degrees to get a true reading plus I have the factory temp gauge that works). There have been good arguments on the location of the temp sending unit. Obviously the best place is just after the thermostat but with the sami configuration it is limited unless you get a pipe/tube that has the connection welded in it and cut a section of the top radiator hose and replace it with the pipe or tubing. This way you can keep your stock gauge and have the aftermarket gauge as well.

xanthias
05-25-2006, 06:26 AM
http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/1986_Zuk_34.jpg

The sending unit directly under the upper radiator hose is the factory sender for your dash. The larger one to the left of it is the thermal switch for the stock carb/ECU combination. If you are running a Weber, you aren't using that thermal switch and can remove it, thread in a bushing and put in an aftermarket sending unit there.

If you do that, here is what it looks like (look at bottom right):

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/Sargified_001.sized.jpg

Before I redid them, this is how my gauges looked in the dash, pulled in this view so I could get to the wiring:

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/wiring_004.sized.jpg

All of my gauges are Sunpro cheapies, I didn't really want to bother with anything worth stealing. I went with a larger tach:

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/Tach_mockup.sized.jpg

Here is how they look mocked up:

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/gauges_completed.sized.jpg

Now, on the driver side of the block, here is a pic of the oil pressure sending unit:

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/DCP_0628.sized.jpg

xanthias
05-25-2006, 06:32 AM
I also chose to use terminal strips mounted to the firewall on the passenger side under the dash to wire up the gauge lighting and power:

http://www.texas4x4.org/gallery/albums/Samurai/terminals.sized.jpg

The crimped connections have since been soldered, but the point here is the upper strip is fused, key-on 12v power and the bottom strip is split 1/2 positive (red) and 1/2 ground (green) for gauge lighting. You have to tap the positive and ground for this into your dimmer switch wiring (both positive and ground) in order for you to dim your gauges off the factory knob.

xjtony
09-29-2010, 05:50 AM
Any idea on what thread size the larger temp fitting is on the intake???

mtnbound
09-29-2010, 09:28 AM
this is what I have considered doing with mine

http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn307/zook87/DSC03181.jpg


And here is a link to the entire wright up

http://www.wazuks.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1111

moveaside
10-01-2010, 08:08 AM
I don't have oil pressure but I've been running a scan gauge 2 on mine through the obd2 port access. It gives me access to everything the ecu gets I mainly use it for water temp, volts, intake air, and rpms. I laminated a list of trouble codes and I can check them out in the field as well. Serves two purposes. Just giving you options

essjay
10-28-2010, 08:14 PM
The PO had put four large tweeters out of a box speaker for home use in the openings for the air vents. I removed the two middle ones, the other two actually work really well, so I left them, I decided in the holes left, I would just put gauges in. Volt meter and oil pressure.

So far I only have the Voltmeter.
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c228/danielson_zx3/Samurai/1028001505.jpg
Its a 2inch gauge so it didnt fit well, I took some hardboard(kinda like the walls on cheap speaker boxes) Put two hole saw blades on the bit, one the size of the gauge, one the size of the opening. I then took foam and did the same to make it snug in the hole. Worked well. I put bed liner on in to make it look better.