PDA

View Full Version : motor swap question


alilrusty
03-14-2006, 01:43 AM
would i need the ecu out of a 91 samurai to put the 1.3 outof the 91 into my 87?

Jim
03-14-2006, 09:11 AM
I've swapped 1.3's from different years with no problems. I just leave the intake attached to the truck, making the swap much easier as well. That way, no fuel or electrical work has to be done.

Sally
03-14-2006, 10:18 AM
Just be sure that if your useing a FI head on a carbed model that the cam has a lobe in the back to move the fuel pump rod. (some don't) and it will ruin your day trying to figure out why it's not getting any fuel.

And JIM http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c271/D2theJ/smileys/another-fish-welcome.gif
to the site

Jim
03-14-2006, 12:40 PM
Sally is right. I totally spaced on the cam lobe for the fuel pump actuator rod.

DesertZuki
03-15-2006, 01:58 PM
'91 is injected, yes?

So if you're swapping the injection too, yes.